Kansas Workers Compensation

The Kansas Workers’ Compensation Program has undergone major changes over the past few years. We have made dramatic annual decreases in rates and new laws have been passed which have helped reduce the costs for employers.

Premiums for workers’ compensation insurance are determined by applying the rate for occupational classes and experience ratings for individual firms. Premiums are calculated per $100 of annual employee wages. The rates are competitive and vary by insurance company. Workers’ compensation premium rates in Kansas are ninth lowest in the nation.

Kansas employers may secure workers’ compensation insurance for employees in one of three ways:

  1. They may obtain insurance from private insurance companies authorized to transact workers’ compensation insurance in Kansas, either in the voluntary market or assigned risk plan;
  2. Apply to the Kansas Department of Labor to become self-insured or;
  3. Become a member of a group-funded workers’ compensation insurance pool if they are eligible.

The maximum weekly benefit is two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage at the time of the injury, up to a maximum of $627 per week.

Workers Compensation Premium Rate Rankings chart