News Flash

Business and Community Development Newsroom

Posted on: June 29, 2011

AuBurn Pharmacy, Bio-Microbics recognized as top businesses of the year by Gov. Brownback

Gov. Sam Brownback recognized AuBurn Pharmacy of Garnett with the Governor’s Award of Excellence and Bio-Microbics of Shawnee with the Governor’s Exporter of the Year Award at the annual Kansas Cavalry Encampment at Butler County Community College in El Dorado.

The two awards are the state’s top business honors and are the culmination of Business Appreciation Month, the Department’s annual statewide tribute to Kansas businesses for their contributions to the state. The event is sponsored the Kansas Department of Commerce and the Kansas Cavalry, a volunteer group of business leaders who promote the state as a desirable business location.

“AuBurn Pharmacy and Bio-Microbics represent the best of business and of Kansas,” Brownback said. “These companies are innovators and deeply committed to the communities they reside in and the customers they serve. They are great examples of why Kansas is a great place for business.”

Finalists for the Governor’s Award of Excellence were Community HealthCare System (Onaga); Rooks County Health Center (Plainville); Mid Kansas Coop Association (Moundridge); and Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center (Chanute).

Finalists for the Governor’s Exporter of the Year Award were Bunting Magnetics (Newton); Premier Pneumatics (Salina); ICE Corp. (Manhattan); and KASA Industrial Controls (Salina). The Exporter of the Year Award is sponsored by the Department and the Kansas International Trade Coordinating Council.

“I want to congratulate all the companies recognized during Business Appreciation Month,” said Kansas Commerce Secretary Pat George. “There are many outstanding companies doing some great things in business and in their communities. We are fortunate that these businesses call Kansas home.”

Also recognized with Kansas Business Hall of Fame Awards were University of Kansas graduate and Ford Motor Co. President and CEO Alan Mulally and Joseph G. McCoy (1837-1915), a Kansas cattle trade pioneer.

Profiles of the award winners follow:

AuBurn Pharmacy Inc.

AuBurn Pharmacy Inc. owns and operates twelve retail pharmacies in Kansas, three in Missouri, a hospital pharmacy and a long-term care facility business that focuses on behavior health services. Based in Garnett, the company uses a business model that allows it to successfully compete with larger-scale businesses and keep local pharmacies alive in small and rural communities. AuBurn Pharmacy has made capital investments over the last 10 years totaling $6.65 million. The company provides many educational and training opportunities for its staff, and community involvement is encouraged. AuBurn also provides scholarships and sponsors mentoring programs at the high school and college level.


Bio-Microbics of Shawnee produces innovative equipment to help organizations address a variety of environmental problems. Current product lines include decentralized wastewater transfer and treatment systems, storm water treatment equipment, wastewater screening devices, commercial grease interceptors and fill media for the global water, wastewater and storm water treatment industries. Bio-Microbics’ products have been used for years in municipal, industrial, marine, commercial and residential wastewater and storm water applications. From 2007-2010, Bio-Microbics’ export sales increased 51 percent, including a 15 percent increase from 2009-2010. The company’s distribution network includes more than 50 countries, seven of which were added in the past year.

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Business and Community Development Newsroom

Manfuacturing Summit 250

Manufacturing Summit coming to Wichita

Posted on: August 16, 2018

Southwest Airlines is coming to Kansas

Posted on: January 13, 2012