News Flash

Workforce Services Newsroom

Posted on: March 24, 2014

One week remaining to submit nominations for Older Worker Awards

Only one week remains to submit nominations for the Older Worker Awards ceremony, which will be held on April 24 at the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library. All nominations for the Older Worker Awards must be received by March 31.

The Older Worker Awards ceremony honors older workers who continue to play crucial roles in the Kansas workforce and economy, as well as their employers. Honorees will include older workers who are employed in both public and private sector jobs, and businesses and companies that regularly employ workers age 55 and older.

WHAT: Older Worker Awards ceremony.

WHEN/WHERE: 10:30 a.m., April 24, at the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, 1515 Southwest 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kan. 66605.

NOMINATION INFORMATION: Nominations for workers 55 and older and for companies that employ older workers are due March 31. Nomination forms are available at For more information about the ceremony contact Susan Weidenbach at (785) 296-7842 or

Nominations are accepted for three award categories:

• Outstanding Older Worker: Bestows appreciation on an older worker who demonstrates outstanding qualities of leadership, dedication and commitment. Nominations are open to the general public. Nominees must be 55 years or older, residents of Kansas and working at least 20 hours a week in paid employment. Previous winners are not eligible.

• Oldest Worker: Celebrates the tenacity and fortitude of the experienced worker and is awarded on the basis of age of those working for pay. Previous winners are not eligible.

• Employer of the Older Worker Award: Bestows appreciation on a business that promotes, recruits, retains and develops experienced workers, and provides a positive and friendly work environment for older workers.

Submit a nomination for the Older Worker Awards
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Workforce Services Newsroom