Governor's Exporter of the Year

2019 Exporter of the Year

2019 Governor's Exporter of the Year Award

Nominations Now Being Accepted

Click here for the nomination form

For the last 30 years, Kansas Department of Commerce has exemplified exceptional export performance by presenting Exporter of the Year Award to the outstanding Kansas companies selected by the Kansas International Trade Coordinating Council (KITCC).

International trade is vital to the Kansas economy.  In 2017, Kansas companies exported over $11.25 billion in goods and services. These Kansas companies contribute to their local economies while serving global customers. 

If your company would like to be considered, or if you would like to nominate a company for this award, please submit the nomination form on the reverse side.

Benefits to the awardees include statewide recognition for their companies.  In addition, many awardees report that this award has given them greater recognition in foreign markets.

Exporter of the Year Process

  • Companies operating in Kansas are eligible for the award.  They may be nominated by local chamber of commerce, business, industry association, supplier, customer or other business associate.  Self-nominations are welcome.
  • Evaluation criteria include rate of growth of export sales and number of export destination countries, rate of expansion into new markets, long-range export strategy and commitment to further export growth, innovations in international marketing, effective use of international sales channels, number of jobs created by exports, and contribution/commitment to local Kansas community.
  • The KITCC reviews all applications in the Spring and may ask for clarification or additional information.  Site visits are made to the five finalist companies selected, and those companies will make a presentation to the KITCC.  A final selection is made and a recommendation is sent to the Governor in April.
  • The Governor of Kansas presents the Exporter of the Year Award at the Team Kansas Awards Banquet in June.   The Governor will visit the company a few months later to meet with the Awarded company’s employees and recognize their contribution to the State of Kansas.

2018 Governor's Exporter of the Year
Schroer Manufacturing Company (Shor-Line)


The program brings statewide recognition to Kansas companies committed to expanding sales in international markets and showcases those exporters as role models to other Kansas companies seeking similar success. The Exporter of the Year Award is dedicated to thanking employers for helping to put Kansas on the world map. 

Exporter of the Year Winners

  • 2018: Schroer Manufacturing Company (Shor-Line)
  • 2017: Lee Aerospace
  • 2016: GT Manufacturing, Inc.
  • 2015: Vektek, Inc.
  • 2014: Kansas Aviation of Independence
  • 2013: Excel Industries Inc.
  • 2012: PITSCO, Inc.
  • 2011: Bio-Microbics Inc.
  • 2010: Osborne Industries
  • 2009: Cereal Ingredients Inc.
  • 2008: Salina Vortex Corporation
  • 2007: The Bradbury Group
  • 2006: Great Plains Manufacturing Inc.
  • 2005: BG Products Inc.
  • 2004: Tramco Inc.
  • 2003: American Crane and Tractor Parts Inc.
  • 2002: Butler National Corporation
  • 2001: Landoll Corporation
  • 2000: Innovative Material Systems
  • 1999: Cobalt Boats
  • 1998: Glendo Corporation
  • 1997: Pioneer Balloon Company
  • 1996: Roto-Mix Inc.
  • 1995: Hill’s Pet Nutrition Inc.
  • 1994: Kreonite
  • 1993: Interconnect Devices Inc.
  • 1992: Peabody Tectank Inc.
  • 1991: Didde Web Press Corporation
  • 1990: M-E-C Company
  • 1989: Wenger Manufacturing Inc.
2000px line



  1. View Business Incentive Brochures
    Download the Kansas Databook
    See Available Building Sites
    Learn About Taxes & Incentives
    Explore Kansas Programs & Services