Foreign Trade Zones

Foreign Trade Zones Map

Download the helpful resource: Databook 2017: Transportation

Foreign Trade Zones (FTZs) provide a duty- and quota-free entry point for foreign goods under customs supervision for an unlimited period. Kansas offers a variety of sites managed by separate grantee organizations in Kansas City and Wichita.

Kansas’s FTZs are Alternative Site Framework (ASF) designated. Companies in the designated region are not restricted to a site-specific FTZ as the entire county is eligible for FTZ benefits. This streamlined approach offers companies the ability to choose a site within the region that fits their needs allowing for a quicker turnaround time and lower costs.

The Kansas City, Kansas FTZ (Zone 17) currently includes nine counties: Atchison, Jefferson, Franklin, Wyandotte, Johnson, Douglas, Shawnee, Leavenworth and Miami. The grantee of the zone is the Greater Kansas City Foreign Trade Zone, Inc., who is also the grantee of the Kansas City, Missouri FTZ (Zone 15). Combined, the Kansas City Zones represent one of the largest in the country, offering more space and handling more volume than those of Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Minneapolis and St. Louis. Those who elicit ATZ designation may receive a response as early as six weeks.

The Wichita, Kansas FTZ (Zone 161) currently includes seven counties: Sedgwick, Sumner, Butler, Saline, Reno, McPherson and Harvey. The grantee of the zone is the Board of County Commissioners of Sedgwick County. Those who elicit ATZ designation may expect a response in as early as four weeks.

2000px line



  1. View Business Incentive Brochures
    Download the Kansas Databook
    See Available Building Sites
    Learn About Taxes & Incentives
    Explore Kansas Programs & Services